End Racism

Two Dismantling Racism Town Halls will be held in August. Image by United Methodist Communications.

Dismantling Racism: Pressing on to Freedom

August Town Halls

In August, we will host two Town Hall conversations that will help us see today's work of dismantling racism in light of what has gone before.

Join emerging leaders in the current movement and seasoned leaders who have been instrumental in this work since the 1960s.

The Town Halls will be live on UMC.org on Wednesdays, August 19 & 26, beginning at 1 pm EST | 12 noon CST | 11 am MST | 10 am PST.

Learn more by visiting the pages below.

Seasoned Leaders: Wed, August 19

The work of dismantling racism is not new; now more than ever we need to be reminded of the work that has moved us to today’s reality—and to name where we still need to go. Four United Methodist leaders in the civil rights movement will answer your questions about their experiences in confronting racism and the church’s role in this work. Join panelists James Lawson, Joel N. Martinez, Sue Thrasher and Clara Ester for their insights.

March for Peace, Jobs and Freedom on the 20th anniversary of the original march in Washington, D.C. 1984. The Rev. James Lawson (center) leads a group from Holman United Methodist Church in Los Angeles. Photo by John C. Goodwin, United Methodist Board of Global Ministries. 

The Rev. James Lawson (center) leads a group from Holman United Methodist Church in Los Angeles. File photo by John C. Goodwin, United Methodist Board of Global Ministries.

More information, including bios, are available. 

Learn More

Emerging Leaders: Wed, August 26

A panel of young United Methodist leaders will discuss their strategies for changing the world and their encouragement for partners in this work. They will respond to your questions about their vision for how to take action with intention and how the Church can draw from the wisdom of the past and hope for the future. Join panelists Ann Jacob, Theon Johnson III, Andres De Arco and Katelin Hansen for this important conversation.

More information, including bios, are available. 

Learn more


Have a question for the panelists?

Submit it now


Previous Events & Resources