Translate Page

Glossary: seminaries, schools of theology

Institutions of The United Methodist Church established for the primary purpose of educating persons to serve effectively as ordained and diaconal ministers. The schools of theology are also to engage in research and studies for the clarification and interpretation of the Christian faith. There are thirteen United Methodist schools of theology, all training ministers at the graduate level. In addition to their own sources of support, the schools of theology receive financial support for current operating expenses from the Ministerial Education Fund.

Source: A Dictionary for United Methodists, Alan K. Waltz, Copyright 1991, Abingdon Press. Used by Permission.

United Methodist Communications is an agency of The United Methodist Church

©2023 United Methodist Communications. All Rights Reserved