Skip Navigation

2015 Texas Conference


2015 Texas Conference

May 24-27, 2015, Houston, Texas

Officiating Bishop: Janice Riggle Huie

In her Episcopal address, Bishop Huie challenged delegates and attendees to consider what they believe and why and be able to vocalize that in a succinct statement. She asked the crowd, “What is important to you personally about being a follower of Jesus in the Wesleyan tradition?” Some attendees tweeted their heartfelt response, others shared with their neighbors, and others replied via video.  Huie shared her own inspiration saying, “I’m a Methodist because Wesley taught his followers to look for and love the image of God in every human being—including the ones I don’t particularly like.”

Speaker: Gil Rendle

Memorable quotes:

“It is in the wilderness that God has always reshaped people for faithfulness,” Rendle reminded conference attendees. “The culture and new generations have changed the mission field around our congregations so that we are now in our own wilderness. The UMC has been on a wilderness journey for 50 years - and we are being reshaped.” The challenge he issued: for churches to ask themselves if whether improving the church that we know is enough.

One of the significant issues facing many congregations,” he said, “is whether we actually believe that an encounter with Christ should make a difference in our lives and our communities. Congregational identity hinges on a clear understanding of identity and purpose because what attracts people to your church is knowing who you are and what you do.”

Resolutions and voting results

The newly elected clergy delegates include:

General Conference: The Revs. Chap Temple, Kenneth Levingston, Morris Matthis, Laceye Warner, Ben Trammell, Steve Wende, Matt Idom, Janice Gilbert and Ed Jones.

Jurisdictional clergy delegate: The Revs. Keith Whitaker, Jessica Lagrone, Kip Gilts, Jim Bass, Silverio Sanchez, Marilyn White, Jonathan Bynum, Guy Williams and Tom Pace.
Alternate clergy delegates: the Revs. Rob Renfro, Justin Coleman, Vincent Harris and
Jeff Olive.

The newly elected lay delegates for General Conference are: Reggie Clemens, Don House, Gil Hanke, Eddie Erwin, Andy Hernandez, Tom Wussow, Marquice Hobbs, Sue Sullivan and Melba Wilson.
Jurisdictional lay delegates are: Oscar Garza, Stacie Hawkins, Sterling Allen, Carolyn Huntsman, Donel King, Clarence Estes, Bryan Tullos, Bill Brown and Richard Hyde.
Alternates lay delegates are: Leah Taylor, Donna West, Enid Henderson, Ken Tielke.

Ordinands: 13,  Average Age: 41

Commissioned: 23, Average Age:  34

2014 Statistics:

Current Membership: 285,508, up from 285, 488 last year.

Current Average Worship attendance:  103,301, down from 104,375 last year.

Current Average Church School Attendance: 38,882, down from 40,173 last year.