Skip Navigation

2015 Rocky Mountain Annual Conference


June 11-14 at the YMCA of the Rockies, Estes Park, Colorado.

Bishop Elaine J. W. Stanovsky welcomed the Rev. Rebecca Parker, co-author of the book, “Saving Paradise: How Christianity Traded Love of This World for Crucifixion and Empire,” as the conference keynote speaker. “Remember that all of us are children of God … called to be a blessing to the Earth,” she said. “Remember this is God’s world. All of Earth’s ecosystems give glory to God.

“Who is the true source of the gifts of Paradise?” she asked. “Our biblical faith asks us to examine what abundant life really is; how it is shared for all of God’s people and how it is sustained.”

The Rev. Denise Honeycutt, top executive of the United Methodist Committee on Relief, was the keynote speaker for the missions dinner. Workshop leaders included the Rev. Pat Watkins, John Hill, Aaron Stauffer, Miok Lee Fowler and Holmes Rolston III.

Other guest speakers were Kelly Schaefer, a missionary with Generation Transformation; Walker Kuch-Stanovsky; Becca Boone, The Food and Justice Initiative and The Land Project and Duane Schrag of The Land Institute.

The conference adopted its sixth annual Valentine’s Resolution on Global HIV and AIDS, which endorses the United Methodist Global AIDS Fund as a “mission of the month for February 2016 and urges every congregation to take a special collection Feb. 14 to support United Methodist Global AIDS Fund (Advance No. 982345) and send those funds to the Rocky Mountain Conference treasurer.

Elected as delegates and alternate delegates to the 2016 General Conference were Doug Palmer, Kunle Taiwo and Reasa Currier, laity; and Kent Ingram, Brad Laurvick and Megan Armstrong, clergy.

Six laity were elected for the 2016 Western Jurisdictional Conference: Harvey Tukutau, Margaret Hotze, Judy Hill, Liwliwa Robledo, Glenna Brayton and Diana Huerta. The six clergy elected for Jurisdictional Conference were  Skip Strickland, Cathie Kelsey, Jessica Rooks, Eric Smith, Michael Dent and Sione Tukutau.

Alternate laity for Jurisdictional Conference are Laurie Day, Ruth Wills and Curtis Gay. Alternate clergy delegates are Elizabeth McVicker, Jerry Herships and Melanie Rosa.

The Rocky Mountain Conference ordained 10 people and commissioned 12, at an average age of 38.

Current overall membership stands at 59,619, down from 61,095 the year before. Current worship attendance is 28,358, compared to 29,254 last year. The weekly average for church school attendance is 7,478, a slight decrease from 7,649 the previous year.

Professions/reaffirmations of faith for 2014: 1,263 and 2013: 1,451.

Worshippers engaged in mission for 2014: 21,539 and 2013: 15,780.

—Charmaine Robledo, director of communications, Mountain Sky Area