Skip Navigation

July Webinar – FLSA Changes

GCFA is proud to present another webinar in our GCFA On-Demand webinar series to bring our resources to you. On Tuesday, July 19, 2016 at 2:00 PM EDT/1:00 PM CDT/11:00 AM PDT, GCFA’s Human Resources and Legal Services Department will present information on the Department of Labor’s (DOL) recently announced changes to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Eric Stevens, Shareholder at Littler Mendelson, PC, will be our special guest.  Many of you know Eric from his EEOC webinar earlier this year and from his experience in the area of law.

This webinar is free and open to all annual conference staff members interested in this topic. Be sure to mark your calendars and tell your colleagues! Please take a moment to register for this webinar: Register Here. We have received over 43 registrations to date. All registered attendees will receive access to the slides, presentation, and any other resources provided during the training.

Some of the highlights from the new rules:

  • Set the minimum salary level for exemption at $47,476 ($913/week) and the salary level for the highly compensated test at $134,004;
  • Provide for automatic increases in the salary levels after three years (beginning Jan. 1, 2020), indexed to the 40th percentile of full time salary workers in the lowest wage Census region (currently the South region);
  • Maintain the duties test criteria already embedded in the regulations; and
  • Set an implementation date of December 1, 2016.

There will be a question and answer session at the end of the presentation, covering specifics such as how this law applies to local churches and non-profit organizations. Again, registration is free and there is no limit on how many people in your annual conference can participate.